Bottle stopper

Here is a basic project for the lathe, a nicely turned bottle stopper.

I wanted it to have these features:
1, 90mm length
2, Three ‘o’ rings
3, A matching nub at the end, minus the o rings
4, A good surface finish

There are several techniques required.
Turning a taper via the compound rest method, parting, drilling, tapping, grooving.

On to the project!

Firstly I put a bit of one inch diameter aluminium in the chuck then centre drilled it, I then drilled it 4mm and tapped it M5. I drilled it 4mm however the correct tapping drill size is 4.2mm but my 4.2 mm drill was hiding somewhere.

Drilling 4mm

Drilling 4mm

Tapping M5

Tapping M5

After that was done I put a live centre in and turned the outside diameter to 24.5mm

IMG_0890

Once I’d done that, I cut a groove into the “thin” end. I did this so that I wouldn’t have to worry about having to really keep an eye on where the tool was. I then marked a line approx 10mm from the “thick” end to show where I would end the taper.

cutting a groove

cutting a groove

marked line

marked line

I then set the compound rest using my protractor set to 4 degrees.

Setting the angle

Setting the angle

I was ready to start cutting the taper. I did the first few passes by hand, and once i was happy I used my cordless drill (set on low-speed) with a 5mm hex bit in the compound rest hand wheel.

first few cuts

first few cuts

I finished the taper by keeping the saddle in the same place, using the compound slide to cut the length of the taper, and cross slide for the in feed.

Finished taper.

Finished taper.

I then parted it off at the thin end making sure that i had taken the revolving centre off.

I flipped the part in the chuck and grooved the part for the o rings.

Groovy man

Groovy man

That was the main part done.

Next came the nub.

I drilled and tapped two half-inch aluminium rods M5, then screwed them together and put them in the chuck.
I parted off the excess then I turned the outside using a slow feed, then started to cut the taper.

screwing the rod on

screwing the rod on

first cut

first cut

finished

finished

I then screwed it in to the hole in the main body to finish it.

Finished

Finished

a sadly empty bottle.

a sadly empty bottle.

Leave a Reply

